With more and more people using the internet to search for information, shop and perform other daily activities, it is important that websites and video are accessible to everyone. This is where WCAG 2.1 comes into play.

WCAG stands for Web Content Accessibility Guidelines and is a standard that helps web developers, designers and communicators create material that can be used by everyone, regardless of disability. In this blog post, we'll take a look at what WCAG 2.1 is and why it's important to creating accessible websites.

What is WCAG 2.1?

WCAG 2.1 is the latest version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines, published by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) in 2018. It is an international standard that provides guidance on how to create web content that is accessible to people with disabilities, including people with visual impairments, hearing impairment and mobility impairment.

WCAG 2.1 consists of four basic principles:

  • Perceptibility: to make the content visible and audible to all users.
  • Operability: to make the website usable by all users, regardless of the device or assistive device used.
  • Understandability: to make the content comprehensible to all users.
  • Robustness: to ensure that the website works on different technical platforms and devices.

Why is WCAG 2.1 important?

By following the guidelines in WCAG 2.1, we can create materials that are accessible to people with disabilities. This can help reduce digital exclusion and enable everyone to use the web in a similar way. In addition, it is often a requirement in the public sector and a topic that we at Adme believe in very strongly. We are passionate about the work we do and of course want to make sure that as many people as possible can take part in what we create - regardless of whether it is community information or an animated corporate film for a company. The better the accessibility adaptation, the larger the potential target group!

What are the requirements in WCAG 2.1?

WCAG 2.1 contains a long list of guidelines and requirements that should be followed. These include requirements for text options for images, accessible forms and links, use of high-contrast colors, and much more. The requirements in WCAG 2.1 are divided into three levels of accessibility: A, AA and AAA, where AA is considered the standard level of accessibility.

How does WCAG 2.1 affect film?

The requirement itself is not developed specifically for film, but covers a wide range of final productions such as film, graphic design or websites. As with static design, there are a number of important points to consider, but also with a number of additions when it comes to film. Here, the message changes over time and we often work with several different elements to convey the message; storytelling, design, voice and music to name a few. Here it becomes even more important that accessibility is a cornerstone in the production of an animated corporate film, right from the start!

Do you want to know more about how we at Adme work with WCAG 2.1 and accessibility adaptation?

Take a look at our previous blog post!

Has our blog inspired you?

Contact us to see how we can help your company use animated movies!

Contact Us